Divisions

AIDS

Members are associated with the following Research Center(s)

  • BC Centre for Excellence in HIV/AIDS
    • Research Focus: Epidemiology & Population Health, Gender & Sexual Health
    • Resources: Routine clinical HIV/AIDS lab services, specialized HIV related testing (including drug resistance and therapeutic drug monitoring)

List of Members

Contact

#667-1081 Burrard Street
Vancouver, BC V6Z1Y6
Tel: 604 806-8036
Fax: 604 806-8527

Division Head: Dr. Julio Montaner | jmontaner@cfenet.ubc.ca
Administrator: Kelly Hsu | kellyhsu@cfenet.ubc.ca

Allergy & Immunology

List of Members

Contact

#166-1081 Burrard Street, St.
Vancouver, B.C. V6Z 1Y6
Tel: 604 682 2344 X 62708

Division Head: Dr. Robert Schellenberg | bschellenberg@mrl.ubc.ca
Administrator: Shelley Berkow | shelley.berkow@vch.ca

Cardiology

Members are associated with the following Research Center(s)

  • BC Centre for Improved Cardiovascular Health (BC CICVH)
    • Research Focus: Outcomes research in cardiovascular health
    • Resources: Refinement of research questions, planning and study design, budget consultation, grant preparation
  • James Hogg Research Centre (JHRC)
    • Research focus: Understanding the link between genes and the environment in causing heart, lung, and blood vessel disease
    • Resources: Cellular imaging and biophysics core, digital slide scanning, GEM facility, Graphic & Imaging services, Histology, HIC, Info Systems, Molecular Phenotyping and Genotyping, Registry and Biobank, Technology Development

List of Members

Contact

9th floor, DHCC
2775 Laurel Street
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1M9
Tel: 604 875-4111 X 69821
Fax: 604 875-5504

Division Head: Dr. Andrew Krahn | akrahn@ubc.ca
AdministratorJanet Crocombe (UBC Administrator) | Janet.crocombe@vch.ca

Community Internal Medicine

List of Members

Contact

Ste 5910 Burrard Bldg, 1081 Burrard St.
Vancouver, B.C. V6Z 1Y6
Tel: 604 806-8668
Fax: 604 806-8338

Division Head: Dr. Barry Kassen | bkassen@providencehealth.bc.ca
AdministratorBetty Cristofoli | bcristofoli@providencehealth.bc.ca

Critical Care

Members are associated with the following Research Center(s)

  • BC Centre of Excellence for Prevention or Organ Failure (PROOF)
    • Research Focus: Developing blood tests to better predict, diagnose, manage and treat heart, lung, and kidney disease
    • Resources: The PROOF Centre’s service arm provides expertise in computation, “-omic” science and biomarker workflow to organizations seeking to discover, develop, and implement blood-based molecular biomarkers in a clinical setting

List of Members

Contact

855 W 12th Ave – ICU2- JPPN
2nd Floor, Rm. 2438
Vancouver, B.C., V5Z 1M9

Division Head: Dr. Najib Ayas | nayas@providencehealth.bc.ca
Administrator: Vacant

Endocrinology

Members are associated with the following Research Center(s)

  • Centre for Menstrual Cycle and Ovulation Research (CeMCOR)
    • Research focus: The physical and psycological causes and effects of ovulation disturbances on women’s overall health
  • James Hogg Research Centre (JHRC)
    • Research focus: Understand link between our genes and the environment in causing heart, lung, and blood vessel diseases
    • Resources: Cellular imaging and biophysics core, digital slide scanning, GEM facility, Graphic & Imaging Services, Histology, HIC, Info Systems, Molecular Phenotyping and Genotyping, Registry and Biobank, Technology Development
  • BC Women’s Hospital and Health Centre
    • Research focus: comprehensive assessment and care for people who have osteoporosis

List of Members

Contact

4th Floor, GLDHCC
2775 Laurel Street
Vancouver, B.C. V5Z 1M9
Tel: 604 875-5929 – VGH  | 604 806-8606 – St. Paul’s Hospital
Fax: 604 875-5925

Division Head: Dr. Ehud Ur | hud.ur@vch.ca
Administrator: Aleta Allen | aallen@providencehealth.bc.ca

Gastroenterology

List of Members

Contact

5th floor, GLDHCC
2775 Laurel Street
Vancouver, B.C. V5Z 1M9

Division Head: Dr. Eric Yoshida | eric.yoshida@vch.ca
AdministratorElaine Grant | elaine.grant@vch.ca

General Internal Medicine

List of Members

Contact

Ste 5910 Burrard Bldg, 1081 Burrard St.
Vancouver, B.C. V6Z 1Y6
Tel: 604 806-8668
Fax: 604 806-8338

Division Head: Dr. Barry Kassen | bkassen@providencehealth.bc.ca
AdministratorBetty Cristofoli | bcristofoli@providencehealth.bc.ca

Geriatric Medicine

Members are associated with the following Research Center(s)

List of Members

Contact

7th floor, GLDHCC
2775 Laurel Street
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1M9
Tel: 604-875-4111 x 69797

Division Head: Dr. Janet Kushner Kow | jkow@providencehealth.bc.ca
AdministratorBecky Nagra | becky.nagra@vch.ca

Hematology

Members are associated with the following Research Center(s)

List of Members

Contact

10th Floor, 2775 Laurel Street
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1M9
Tel: 604-875-4089

Division Head:  Dr. Stephen Nantel | snantel@bccancer.bc.ca
AdministratorKaren Hermkens | khermkens@bccancer.bc.ca

Infectious Disease

Members are associated with the following Research Center(s)

List of Members

Contact

452D HPE, 2733 Heather St.
Vancouver, B.C., V5Z 3J5
Tel: 604 875-5497
Fax: 604 875-4013

Division Head: Dr. Peter Phillips | pphillips@cfenet.ubc.ca
Administrator: Kathy Bishop | Kathy.Bishop@ubc.ca
Assistant: Madelaine Beck | Madelaine.Beck@vch.ca

Medical Oncology

Members are associated with the following Research Center(s)

  • BC Cancer Agency (BCCA)
    • Resources: Research facilitation office, cancer control research, multiple research centres (lymphoid, immunology, experimental therapeutics, genome sciences, integrative & interdisciplinary oncology, investigational drugs)

List of Members

Contact

BCCA, 600 W 10th Ave
Vancouver, B.C., V5Z 4E6
Tel: 604-877-6000 x 2445

Division Head: Dr. Karen Gelmon (Interim) | kgelmon@bccancer.bc.ca
AdministratorJennifer Johnston | jjohnston8@bccancer.bc.ca

Nephrology

Members are associated with the following Research Center(s)

List of Members

Contact

St. Paul’s Hospital
Rm. 166-1081 Burrard Street
Vancouver, BC V6Z 1Y6
Tel: 604 875-4111 ext. 67946

Vancouver General Hospital
5th floor, GLDHCC
2775 Laurel Street
Vancouver BC, V5Z 1M9

Division Head: Dr. Adeera Levin, Executive Director BC Provinical Renal Agency | alevin@providencehealth.bc.ca
Executive Assistant: Pam Sewell | psewell@providencehealth.bc.ca | Tel: 604 682-2344 ext. 62232 | Fax: 604-806-8120
Administrator: Pam Sewell | psewell@providencehealth.bc.ca
VGH Education/Admin: Tammie Davis |  tammie.davis@vch.ca | Tel: 604-875-5909 | Fax: 604 875-5598

Neurology

Members are associated with the following Research Center(s)

  • Djavad Mowafaghian Centre for Brain Health (CBH)
    • Research focus: Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, ALS, MS, Mental Health and Addiction, Stroke, Neurotrauma
  • Brain Research Centre
    • Research focus: neuroscience research with focus on promoting neuron survival and functional recovery
    • Resources: Peptide synthesis and In Vivo imaging
  • Pacific Parkinson Research Centre
    • Research focus: use of Positron Emission Tomography (PET), and recently with functional fMRI to study the natural history and progression of Parkinson disease, genetic forms of Parkinson, the complications of long-term disease and its therapy and the placebo effect
    • Resources: MRI, PET, Electrophysiology
  • MS/MRI Research Group
    • Research focus: developing better trial methodologies to improve the lives of people with neurological diseases
    • Resources: Consultation on study design and feasibility along with a full range of central MRI analysis services
  • Seizure Investigation Unit
    • Resources: performs Electroencephalography (EEG) tests to record the electrical brain activity that occurs with seizures
  • MS Clinic and Research Group 
    • Research focus: improving all aspects of life for patients with MS
  • Centre for Applied Neurogenetics
    • Research focus: to accelerate the development of novel therapeutics for patients with neurological disease
    • Resources: genetics, computing/statistics and molecular biology, model generation and characterization including behavioral testing, microdialysis, brain slice electrophysiology and neuropharmacology

List of Members

Contact

UBC Hospital
S192, Koerner Pavilion
2211 Wesbrook Mall, UBC Hospital
Vancouver, B.C. V6T 2B5
Tel: 604 822-7929
Fax: 604 822-7703

Division Head: Dr. Jon Stoessl | jstoessl@mail.ubc.ca
Administrator: Yvonne Ng | yvonne.ng@vch.ca
Division Secretary: Fax: 604 875-5217

Palliative Care

List of Members

Contact

Division Head: Dr. Pippa Halwey
AdministratorKathryn Inman

Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation

Members are associated with the following Research Center(s)

  • International Collaboration on Repair Discoveries (ICORD)
    • Research focus: development and translation of more effective strategies promoting prevention of spinal cord injury, functional recovery, and improved quality of life after SCI
    • Resources: rehab gym, Access Lab (kitchen, physical activity labs), biomechanical engineering lab, neurophysiology and autonomic research labs
  • GF Strong
    • Research focus: to discover innovative solutions to optimize the outcomes of rehabilitation and improve the lives of those with disabilities and their families

List of Members

Contact

G.F. Strong Rehab. Centre
4255 Laurel Street
Vancouver, B.C. V5Z 2G9
Tel: 604 714-4157
Fax: 604 714-4177

Division Head: Dr. Andrea Townson | andrea.townson@vch.ca
Secretary: Maria Canvin | maria.canvin@vch.ca

Respiratory Medicine

Members are associated with the following Research Center(s)

  • Chan-Yeung Centre for Occupational and Environmental Respiratory Disease (C2OERD)
    • Research focus: lung disease related to workplace and environmental exposures
    • Resources: “Air Pollution Exposure Lab” (APEL)
  • The Lung Centre
    • Research focus: pulmonary research and on-going clinical drug trials
  • James Hogg Research Centre (JHRC)
    • Research focus: Understanding the link between genes and the environment in causing heart, lung, and blood vessel disease
    • Resources: Cellular imaging and biophysics core, digital slide scanning, GEM facility, Graphic & Imaging services, Histology, HIC, Info Systems, Molecular Phenotyping and Genotyping, Registry and Biobank, Technology Development

List of Members

Contact

7th Floor, GLDHCC
2775 Laurel Street
Vancouver, B.C. V5Z 1M9
Tel: 604 875-4327
Fax: 604 875-4695

Division Head: Dr. Mark FitzGerald |mark.fitzgerald@vch.ca
Administrator: Margie Bell | margie.bell@vch.ca
Clinical Manager: Kelly Sallaway | kelly.sallaway@vch.ca | Tel: 604 875-5412 | Fax: 604 875-4695

Rheumatology

  • Arthritis Research Centre of Canada
    • Research focus:  consumer-driven clinical research and trials related to arthritis diagnosis, prognosis, prevention, care outcomes and quality of life issues

List of Members

Contact

Suite 802-1200 Burrard Street
Vancouver, B.C., V6Z 2C7
Tel: 604 682-2344 X 66171
Fax: 604 806-9627

Division Head: Dr. Kam Shojania | kam.shojania@vch.ca
Administrator: Tracey Ernst | ternst@providencehealth.bc.ca