2019 Internal Medicine Resident Research Day

On May 15, 2019, the 2019 Internal Medicine Resident Research Day was held at MSAC to celebrate the accomplishments of our Resident Researchers


Here are the winners from the 2019 Internal Medicine Resident Research Day:

Podium Presentations:

PGY1 Best Podium – River Jiang “Machine learning for predicting a novel LV Diastolic Funtion Measurement from Echocardiography”

PGY2 Best Podium  – Clara Tsui “Admission diagnosis of “failure to thrive” in older adults associated with delays in hospital care”

PGY3 Best Podium  – Navraj Malhi “Catheter Ablation of Atrial Fibrillation in Heart Failure with Reduced Ejection Fraction: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis”

PGY4/5/6 Best Podium – Irene Yu “Relationship Between PET Response and Pathologic Response in Distal Esophageal/Gastroesophageal Junction Cancers: A Provincial Population-Based Analysis”

Poster Presentations:

PGY1 Best Poster – Eric Wong “Patient Perspectives on Early Liver Transplantation for Alcoholic Liver Disease”

PGY2 Best Poster – Julia Tan “Hypereosphillic Syndromes: A case series and approach to undifferentiated peripheral eosinophilia with a focus on lymphocytic-variant hypereosinophilic syndrome and IGG4-related disease”

PGY3 Best Poster – Clarus Leung “Characterization of Airway Epithelial Structure and Function in Asthma Using the Air-liquid Interface Model”

PGY4/5/6 Best Poster – Darwin Yeung “Temporal Trends in Left Atrial Function in Patients with Fabry Disease”

Best overall Presentation – Steven Pi “Physician Factors Associated with Adenoma Detection at Colonoscopy”

Resident Awards:

Richard E. Beck (outstanding contribution to clinical teaching by senior resident / fellow) – Justin Gill

A Dodek Oustanding Clinical and Ethical Performance in Cardiology – Chamaine Lam

John Mancini Resident Research Achievement Prize – Navraj Malhi & Nima Moghaddam

Shelly Naiman Award for clinical teaching: Shane Arishenkoff and Anita Palepu

PGY2 Resident Teaching Award – Ben Schwartzentruber

PGY3 Resident Teaching Award – Navraj Malhi

Fellow Resident Teaching Award – Pol Darras

K.A. Evelyn Award (outstanding core resident of the year) – Sean Addison

Please join us in congratulating all the winners on their wonderful achievements!