Our Leadership

The Department of Medicine is led by a diverse team of senior leaders, who are recognized for their national and international contributions to academic medicine.

Education and Research are the portfolios that drive the Department of Medicine’s strategic vision and mission – and each portfolio is led by our Associate Heads. Each of our 18 divisions is led by an appointed Division Head.

The leadership team meets monthly at the UBC Executive Committee Meeting where members share departmental and university business as well as engaging in strategic planning for the department. The team works together to create goals and objectives that continue to grow and strengthen the UBC Department of Medicine. Meeting minutes are taken and are distributed to all committee members and are filed in the DOM administration office/UBC Archives as an archival record of departmental business.

UBC Department of Medicine Executive Committee

Senior Executive

Anita Palepu Eric W. Hamber Professor and Chair of Medicine
Andrea Townson Associate Head, Education
Najib Ayas Associate Head, Research

Division Heads

Amin Kanani Allergy & Immunology
Jasmine Grewal Cardiology
Denise Jaworsky Community General Internal Medicine
Cheryl Holmes Critical Care Medicine
Marshall Dahl Endocrinology
Rob Enns Gastroenterology
Nadia Khan General Internal Medicine
Kenneth Madden Geriatric Medicine
Stephen Nantel Hematology
Ted Steiner Infectious Diseases
Stephen Chia Medical Oncology
Adeera Levin Nephrology
Martin McKeown Neurology
Fify Soeyonggo Palliative Care
Jennifer Yao Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Christopher Carlsten Respiratory Medicine
Juan Antonio Aviña-Zubieta Rheumatology
Thomas Kerr Social Medicine

Program Directors

Mark Roberts Mark Roberts Postgraduate Medical Education
Harpinder Nagi Undergraduate Medical Education
Kevin Eva Director, Educational Research & Scholarship
Dirk Lange (Interim) Experimental Medicine
Sharlene Gill Faculty Mentorship Program

Hospital Department Heads

Wee-Shian Chan BC Women’s Hospital
Gerald da Roza Mark Ballard Royal Columbian Hospital
Marshall Dahl Vancouver Acute

Distributed Site Representatives

Laura Farrell Island Medical Program
Sharla Rae Olsen Northern Medical Program
Jasmine Kerr Southern Medical Program

Clinical Faculty Representative

Emily Lai Clinical Faculty Representative

Senior Administration

Mary Liu Director of Administration
Sharon Duguid Senior Manager, Finance
Kathy Standeven Senior Manager, Education
Currently Recruiting Manager, Human Resources
Currently Recruiting Manager, Research
Donna Combs Administrative Coordinator to the Department Head