Residency Training

Welcome to the UBC Core Internal Medicine Residency Program

The UBC Department of Medicine Core Internal Medicine Residency Program is the second largest Internal Medicine Programs in Canada with over 160 Core Trainees.

The UBC Department of Medicine Residency Training Program operates at various sites throughout the city including Vancouver General Hospital, St. Paul’s Hospital, UBC Hospital and also at multiple allied institutions and non-tertiary care settings around the province.


Mission Statement:

The primary mission of the UBC Internal Medicine Residency Program is to train residents to attain the knowledge, skills and attitudes to become excellent general internists who are committed to upholding the highest ethical and professional standards of medicine. Residents learn to provide compassionate, respectful, patient-centered and evidence-based care in a variety of academic and community settings. The primary instructional strategy is experiential learning, which occurs through the residents’ graduated patient care responsibilities in combination with a variety of CanMEDS non medical expert learning projects..

Graduates are prepared to enter the practice of general internal medicine or to pursue fellowship training, either in general internal medicine or the subspecialties of internal medicine.


Prospective Residents

If you are interested in applying to the UBC Department of Medicine Residency Program you will find all application information on the CaRMS website in our program description as well as our IM R1 Match website.

Have more questions? We’ll be hosting live information sessions. Check out the dates on the AFMC Calendar.

Still can’t find the answers to your questions? Please email natalie.cheng@ubc.ca

Canadian Citizens/Landed Immigrants

Applicants who have completed their medical education in another country may be eligible to apply through the Canadian Resident Matching Service (CaRMS) in Ottawa. Further information can be found on the CaRMS Website.


Current Residents

Please login to the newly expanded UBC Department of Medicine Entrada site to access forms, policies, and additional info related to the Internal Medicine residency program.

2021-2022 UBC Internal Medicine Calendar

Important Dates 2021-2022

Tuesday, April 12 - PGY1 Match Day

Wednesday, May 18 - Resident Research Day

Monday, May 9 - Friday, May 13 - Royal College Oral Exams

Wednesday, June 15 - Friday, June 17 - Annual Retreat

Important Dates 2022-2023

Wednesday August 17 & Wednesday August 31 - ACP Exam

Wednesday, September 7 - Resident Welcome BBQ

Wednesday, November 2 - PGY3 Match Day

TBD - CMR Applications Open

TBD- Annual Winter Retreat

TBD - CMR Application Deadline

TBD - PGY 2 OSCE

Friday, December 23 - Tuesday, December 27 - Christmas Coverage

Wednesday, December 28 - Sunday, January 1, 2023 - New Year's Coverage

Monday, February 27 - Tuesday, February 28 - Royal College Written Exam

Wednesday, March 22, 2023 - PGY1 Match Day

TBD - PGY 1 OSCE TBD

TBD - Resident Research Day