Postgraduate Education

The University of British Columbia Faculty of Medicine contributes to the health of individuals and communities locally, nationally and internationally by fostering excellence, innovation and scholarship in education, research, and care.

Over the past two decades, the Faculty has helped transform the landscape of postgraduate medical education (PGME) in B.C. in both size and reach. Using a province-wide delivery model, nearly 1400 postgraduate learners are currently engaged in training across the province, creating clusters of learning and enhancing service capacity in the Lower Mainland, on the Island, the Interior and in the North — including rural and remote communities of B.C.


The UBC Department of Medicine is dedicated to the delivery of state-of-the-art patient care, basic and applied research, and the training of medicine’s future leaders. These goals are undertaken through an academically vibrant milieu against the backdrop of one of the world’s most geographically beautiful locations. Our programs offer superb and well-balanced training with ample flexibility to accommodate individual needs. Moreover, these programs undergo continual reappraisal and enhancement to ensure that they meet your needs as an adult learner. Our trainees will be exposed to a host of ambulatory and in-hospital patients – cared for in a diverse set of locations – from small community to large community, and tertiary care venues.


Postgraduate Education Contacts

Dr. Mark Roberts
Program Director, Postgraduate Medical Education
604-875-5787 local 61633
jmark.roberts@ubc.ca

Dr. Martha Spencer
Associate Program Director, Resident Assessment
MSpencer@providencehealth.bc.ca 

Dr. Ritu Kumar
Associate Program Director, PGY4s
ritu.kumar@ubc.ca 

Dr. Peter Weerasinghe
Associate Program Director, Resident Wellness
cpweera@mail.ubc.ca

Dr. Tristen Gilchrist
Associate Program Director, Curriculum Development & Academic Half Day
tristen.gilchrist@ubc.ca

Dr. Trudy Nasmith
CBME Lead
trudy.nasmith@ubc.ca 

Dr. Nathan Chan
Simulation Lead

Dr. Shane Arishenkoff
Ultrasound Lead

Laura Moss
Program Manager
604-875-4166
l.moss@ubc.ca

Natalie Cheng
Senior Program Assistant
604-875-4111 ext 68641
natalie.cheng@ubc.ca

Alex Dang
Project Coordinator
alex.dang@ubc.ca

Melissa Nightingale
Program Coordinator
604-875-5787
melissa.nightingale@ubc.ca

Amy Meyer
Senior Program Assistant
amy.meyer@ubc.ca 

Dr. Shane Arishenkoff
Vancouver General Hospital
shanearish@hotmail.com

Dr. Barry Kassen
St. Paul's Hospital
bkassen@providencehealth.bc.ca

Dr. Gerald Da Roza
Royal Columbian Hospital
gdaroza@hotmail.com 

Dr. Sharla Olsen
Prince George Regional Hospital
sjo@ualberta.ca

Dr. Alison Walzak
Royal Jubiliee & Victoria General
awalzak@uvic.ca

Dr. Jasmine Kerr
Kelowna General Hospital
Jasminekerr@gmail.com