Dr. Janice Leung (Division of Respiratory Medicine) appointed new Canada Research Chair in Translational Airway Biology

The Department of Medicine’s Dr. Janice Leung is among the seven Faculty of Medicine Researchers appointed as new or renewed Canada Research Chairs

In total, the Government of Canada is investing more than $151 million to support 188 new and renewed Chairs at 43 academic institutions across the country.

Established in 2000, the CRC program helps bolster academic research by attracting and retaining world’s brightest scholars and scientists. Chairholders work across a diversity of fields to advance knowledge and discovery, improve quality of life, strengthen Canada’s international competitiveness, and train the next generation of highly skilled talent.

The Canada Foundation for Innovation (CFI), a partner of the CRC program, also announced an investment of $9.5 million for cutting-edge research infrastructure to support chairholders. Through the John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF), a combined total of $489,382 was awarded to new CRCs at UBC’s Faculty of Medicine, including Drs. Jane Hill, Janice Leung and Manu Madhav.


Janice Leung
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Respiratory Medicine
Tier 2 CRC in Translational Airway Biology




Please join us in congratulating Dr. Leung on this wonderful achievement!

This story was originally seen on UBC Faculty of Medicine News