UGE Class of 2015 Year 3 Award Recipients

The Department of Medicine congratulates the following Class of 2015 Year 3 award winners!

Alym Abdulla

Alym Abdulla 2 

Roland W. Lauener Scholarship: Awarded to a fourth year student based on excellent communication skills and academic performance demonstrated in the third year of their Internal Medicine Rotation. Dr. Lauener graduated from UBC’s MD program in 1956, and specialized in internal medicine, with sub-specialties in endocrinology and nephrology. He returned to UBC as a professor in 1965 and proceeded to serve the university in many roles, including: Acting Head, Department of Medicine; Deputy Head, VGH Department of Medicine; Acting Head, Division of Internal Medicine; and Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education (1973-1994), responsible for the MD undergraduate students and curriculum. Dr. Lauener was a passionate educator who received a number of teaching awards, including UBC’s prestigious Killam Award in 1992. To Dr. Lauener, or Rolly as he was known to most of his colleagues, teaching was a priority and he made learning a pleasure.

 Victor Liu

Victor Liu 2

Ted and Fiona Leung Memorial Scholarship: Endowed by family, friends and colleagues of Ted and Fiona Leung, honouring the life-long contribution of Ted Leung to the practice of accounting and auditing at Vancouver City Hall. The scholarship is awarded to students in the M. D. program who have demonstrated excellence in the study of Internal Medicine.

 David Sanders  

David Sanders 2

Dr. Donald S. Munroe Memorial Scholarship: In recognition of the many years of outstanding clinical teaching given by Dr. Munroe a scholarship has been endowed. It is awarded to a student who, in the opinion of the Department has demonstrated outstanding clinical skills in the subject of Internal Medicine.