Canada Research Chairs

The Canada Research Chairs Program (CRCP) enables Canadian universities to achieve the highest levels of research excellence and become world-class research centres.

Chairholders improve our depth of knowledge and quality of life, strengthen Canada’s international competitiveness, and help train the next generation of highly skilled people through student supervision, teaching and the coordination of other researchers’ work. Established by the Government of Canada in 2000, the CRCP is committed to excellence in research and research training, and to ensuring equal access to opportunities for all qualified candidates.

The UBC Department of Medicine holds 9 Canada Research Chairs:

ChairholderDivisionResearch Discipline
Dr. J. BartonNeurology• CRC Tier 1: Life Sciences Related to Human Health and Disease
Vision and Eye Movement
Dr. L. BrunhamGeneral Internal Medicine• CRC Tier 2: Other in AL
Precision Cardiovascular Disease Prevention
Dr. C. CarlstenRespiratory Medicine• CRC Tier 2: Respiration
Occupational and Environmental Lung Disease
Dr. E. ConwayHematology• CRC Tier 1: Life Sciences Related to Human Health and Disease
Endothelial Cell Biology
Dr. J. LeungRespiratory Medicine• CRC Tier 2: Respiration
Translational Airway Biology
Dr. K. ShannonSocial Medicine•   CRC Tier 2: Population Health – General
Global Sexual Health and HIV/AIDS
Dr. Don SinRespiratory Medicine• CRC Tier 1: Respiration
Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
Dr. J. StoesslNeurology• CRC Tier 1: Central Nervous System -Organic
Parkinson’s Disease
Dr. E. WoodSocial Medicine• CRC Tier 1: Population Health – General
Inner City Medicine