Equity Committee

Terms of Reference


  • Dr. Nadia Khan
  • Dr. Diane Lacaille, Chair
  • Dr. Heather Leitch
  • Dr. Yvette Leung
  • Mary Liu (on leave until July 2020)
  • Dr. Graydon Meneilly
  • Dr. Anita Palepu
  • Dr. Andrea Townson
  • Donna Combs (secretary)


  1. To monitor the Department’s policies and practices in regards to equity issues and advise the Department Head of any practices which are perceived as discriminatory.
  2. To develop equity guidelines for the Department.
  3. To educate senior leadership on equity.
  4. To support and sponsor events and programs designed to foster equity in the Department.
  5. To promote appropriate change by initiating and participating in discussions designed to further equity in the Department.

At this time the primary focus of the Committee is gender equity.

The committee will meet quarterly.