Academic Appointments, Reappointments, Promotions and Tenure Committee (AARPT)

The UBC Department of Medicine Academic Appointments, Reappointments, Promotions and Tenure Committee (AARPT) was created to support the Department by reviewing files for appointment, promotion and academic reappointment reviews.

Terms of Reference


The Committee is comprised of members from the academic and clinical streams who discuss and vote on cases as a group. Occasionally, the Committee may discuss other items of business related to the appointments and promotion process. Cases discussed by the Committee are strictly confidential.  Correspondence from the AARPT Committee to the candidates in question will always be through the Committee Chair.  Any inquiries about the status of a case are to be referred to the Committee Chair.

Case Review
When the agenda is created, two Committee members will be assigned to each case on the agenda.  It is the expectation that each member assigned to the case will thoroughly familiarize themselves with the case they will be presenting.  The first member assigned will present the case to the Committee, and the second member assigned will provide any additional information that they feel is appropriate.

Cases are assigned to members who are not in the same division as the candidate, and to Committee members who are in the same stream (clinical or full time) and at or above the rank being proposed for the candidate.

Mandate and Role

Committee Meetings are set at the beginning of each academic year for the entire year.  There is an average of two meetings booked each month.  Meetings are always held on Monday mornings, 7:30 to 8:30 am at VGH. The committee will be supported by the Faculty Hires and Promotions Manager. Minutes are taken by the Faculty Hires and Promotions Manager during the meeting, and he or she will have them approved by the Chair before they are filed.  The meeting minutes, agenda and voting sheet are kept in a binder.  The portion of the minutes covering each candidate are also filed in the candidate’s human resources file.

Committee Member Expectations:
    • Attend at least 50% of meetings. If a member’s attendance is poor, the Chair may ask that member to step down. Attendance by teleconference is acceptable.
    • Committee members present are expected to vote on all cases, and are discouraged from abstaining since abstentions are generally viewed as negative votes.
    • Members unable to attend the meeting may submit a written opinion to the Chair prior to the meeting for oral transmission to the Committee.
Meeting Conduct:
    • The Chair conducts the meeting and does not vote.  In cases where the Chair perceives a conflict of interest with one of the candidates being reviewed, he or she will appoint an alternate Chair.  The Associate Chair also does not vote.
    • Quorum for all cases is three eligible voters
    • All committee members may vote on each case, however votes are formally recorded as follows:
Case Rank AARPT members whose votes can be formally counted
Appointment as:
Clinical Instructor
Clinical Associate Professors & Clinical Professors
Appointment as or promotion to:
Clinical Assistant Professor
Clinical Associate Professors & Clinical Professors
Appointment as or promotion to:
Clinical Associate Professor
Clinical Associate Professor & Clinical Professors
Appointment as or promotion to:
Clinical Professor
Clinical Professors
Appointment as or reappointment as:
Assistant Professor or Associate Professor
Associate Professors & Professors
Appointment as, reappointment as, or promotion to:
Associate Professor
Associate Professors & Professors
Appointment as or reappointment as:



The Committee is chaired by the Head, UBC Department of Medicine.  The Associate Head, Education and the Associate Head, Academic Affairs will also sit on the Committee.  These members will hold non-voting memberships, and will be considered ongoing members. If the Chair is unable to attend, the Chair will appoint another member of the Committee to Chair the meeting, who is at the rank of Professor.

Committee is comprised of Associate Professors, Professors, Clinical Associate Professors and Clinical Professors who are elected by their peers in an annual vote.

Members are appointed for three year terms.  If members wish to be considered for a second three-year term, they will need to be re-elected by the members of the Department.

AARPT Committee Members as of September 2023

Dr. O. BenaventeNeurologyProfessor
Dr. W. BowieInfectious DiseasesProfessor
Dr. S. ChiaMedical OncologyProfessor
Dr. E. ConwayHematologyProfessor
Dr. M. FarahNephrologyClinical Associate Professor
Dr. J. GillNephrologyProfessor
Dr. S. GillEndocrinologyClinical Professor
Dr. C. HolmesCritical Care MedicineClinical Professor
Dr. S. JafferCommunity Internal MedicineClinical Professor
Dr. P. KeownNephrologyProfessor
Dr. M. KiaiiNephrologyClinical Assistant Professor
Dr. M. KiessCardiologyClinical Professor
Dr. F. KuchenbauerHematologyAssociate Professor, Partner
Dr. S. NantelHematologyClinical Professor
Dr. A. PalepuGeneral Internal MedicineChair; Eric W. Hamber Professor and Chair of Medicine (non-voting)
Dr. B. PatyEndocrinologyClinical Associate Professor
Dr. K. RamanathanCardiologyClinical Professor
Dr. H. ReevesAllergy & ImmunologyClinical Associate Professor
Dr. M. RobertsGeneral Internal MedicineClinical Professor
Dr. S. SpaceyNeurologyClinical Associate Professor
Dr. A. TownsonPhysical Medicine & RehabilitationCo-Chair; Associate Head, Education; Clinical Professor (non-voting)
Dr. K. WalleyCritical Care MedicineProfessor
Dr. E. YoshidaGastroenterologyProfessor